Advice, Stories, and Complaints

Just like it says. Follow it, believe it, and acknowledge it.

Or don’t. I’m not your mom.

Whatever your life choices may be, here are all of my (non-review) opinion related pieces and journalistic endeavors in one tidy, easy to ignore place. The newest posts will be at the bottom.

“Introductions are always so awkward.” - Hello.

“Leave the bedroom and start making noise with other people.” - Why being in an actual band is important.

“My filthy pedigree.” - Where I’m coming from. Musically.

“Avant-garde-neo-sludge-neu-post-jazz-John-Cage-core-step. (A discussion on genre.)” - I use cheese to explain why if you’ve ever described a band using a genre name similar to the one above, you should be thrown off a bridge.

“DIY” - About bands crowd-funding their releases, tours, etc. A heartwarming coming of age tale of how I used to be a jerk, but blossomed into a much more tolerant individual with the help of some bands and a record label. It’s basically The Grinch Who Stole Christmas, but about post-rock.

“Missed Opportunities & Damned Shames No. 1: Suffocate For Fuck Sake” - The first installment of not so many to come, about what I think are the best lesser know records that missed the memo about flying above the radar.

“"Minnesota Nice” - Why I don’t write negative reviews.“ - I’m not just handing out complimentary reviews here, people…

.

If you’ve gotten lost on your way to a review I’ve posted at some point, click here to find the one you’re looking for on The Big List o’ Reviews.

 
7
Kudos
 
7
Kudos

Now read this

Missed Opportunities & Damned Shames: Suffocate For Fuck Sake

This is a segment I’ve been wanting to do for a while, and it will not have a lot of installments. Its purpose is to give attention to (not review) albums which either have gone mostly unnoticed, or were a band’s only release before they... Continue →